8 Comments

People have less time, energy and disposable income than ever. Couple that with how easy it is these days to watch the game from the comfort of your longe room, it’s easier for people to just stay home.

I think Canberra specifically struggles because there is literally nothing near the stadium. No pubs, restaurants etc. I think if they ever build that stadium in the city they’d get much better numbers. You could go to dinner, then to the game, then out for a beer. Or you could go to an arvo game and walk out and get dinner etc. For canberra specifically, when weighing up the pros and cons, it’s just easier to get takeaway and watch on TV.

It doesn’t help that the NRL and presumably ARU don’t really care about attendance and prioritise doing whatever the TV contract owners specify because they have all the money. Like who the fuck is going to an Thursday 8:05pm kick off NRL game? That’s bed time!

Expand full comment

I think there’s going to be a delay factor. 3 games of better rugby is great for the rugby nuffies like myself. But it’ll take a bit more for people who’ve been disenfranchised to reconnect and realise that the reasons they stopped watching appear to have been fixed.

I’d be interested in the Stan viewership numbers as a sign that things will tick up with crowds moving forward.

Expand full comment

I've been wondering this for years Ben. I've attended Brumbies and Raiders games for the last 9 years and crowd numbers have always been significantly higher at the Raiders.

People cite cost as a reason, but the ticket prices are pretty similar at the gate.

The 4 game membership is great ($80, $20 per game), I buy it every season incase I don't work a match week and don't get tickets from brumbies. I especially love the choose your own membership pack. I was starting to collect a lot of hats that I don't need, the same with key rings, mouse pads and all the other things you get in a pack.

I think not only have the Brumbs been winning, they have been playing some really entertaining footy. It's great that one game is now on 9 Gem, but it seems not a lot of people know about this? Infact, a lot of people didn't know the season had started. BUT, if you're a rugby fan, how can you not know!?

I see no difference in the switch from Foxtel to Stansport other than people having to take out ANOTHER streaming service.

I've seen them try everything, and it's amazing when people complain its about the dumbest things! The DJ music is too loud, the announcer is annoying, they plug sponsors during the game, the drums are annoying, food is expensive, drinks are expensive. Some people comment on the lack of community engagement, but I'm always seeing the boys out in the community.

Communication might need to be improved as I saw on the weekend the boys sung the team song on the field with the fans, but a lot of the fans had left and those are the ones who complained that the team song wasn't played after the match. (If you're interested in seeing some feedback, there is a Brumbies Territory group on facebook which is for members)

The Brumbies have packed the stadiums before back in 2004, so where did all those people go? What has changed between then and now for the fans?

It appears that AFL and NRL fans are much bigger loyalty than Rugby fans.

I personally don't think the location of the stadium matters, you can see with the Raiders attendance that the location does not matter. The addition of food trucks at GIO is great. I remember back when I started going there was a noodle place, just their woke and noodles and sauce and we could smell them from our Bay and it more often than not sucked me in to go and buy noodles haha.

Brumbies have in my eyes, tried everything, BMX bike shows, musicians, a pre game muster, half price tickets, fans on the field, decreasing price of stadium food.

The kick off time is not family friendly, this weekend is Kids round, 10000 kids U 12 get in free with a paying adult. 7.35pm is bed time for a lot of kids. There are a few more 2pm games this year and I'm interested to see how attendance is at those. The scheduling I believe as stitched them up too. Do not give the Brumbies a home game on a long weekend, because a lot of people in Canberra go away on those.

At the end of the day though, the reasons people give for not heading to the rugby are excuses. If people want to do something they will. I couldn't care less what half time entertainment is on, I'm usually too busy chatting to my friends to notice. I am there to watch my team and I am so proud to call the Brumbies my team.

Expand full comment